World Cup

Maracana Stadium Rio de Janeiro

Maracana Stadium Rio de Janeiro

2014 World Cup Rio de Janeiro Brazil

Brazil will be hosting the 2014 World Cup of FIFA Soccer tournament, with the championship game scheduled to be played in the world famous Maracana Stadium located in Rio. The World Cup will bring together 32 of the worlds best soccer teams, competing to win the sports most elite championship. The awarding of the games to Rio, coincides with the city’s future plans to host the 2016 Summer Olympic Games, a great sports coupe for the great nation of Brazil. Over the next twenty four months, Rio is expected to invest upwards of five billion dollars towards infrastructure improvements, energy, security and accommodation. Renovations to the historic Maracana Stadium are expected to top $400 million dollars, helping to create one of the worlds most renowned sports venues.


2014 World Cup Hosting City – Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Cities hosting the qualifying and championship matches in Brazil will be investing millions of dollars in repairing their cities. The hosting cities for the tournament are: Belo Horizonte, Brasília, Cuiabá, Curitiba, Fortaleza, Manaus, Natal, Porto Alegre, Recife, Rio de Janeiro, Salvador, São Paulo. Brazil will be creating a new high speed light rail system that will connect the cities of Campanas, Sao Paulo and Rio to help fans travel to and from the hosting cities and venues for the 2014 games.

FIFA World Cup Football-The History and the Present
The FIFA World Cup or the World Cup Soccer is the most widely watched soccer tournament in the globe. It is an international association football competition participated by the national teams that are the members of the Fédération Internationale de Football Association (FIFA), the governing body of global football.

The world cup soccer matches are held every four years since the inaugural tournament that kicked off in 1930. The tournament however was not held in the years 1942 and 1946 due to the Second World War.

History of World Cup Soccer

Following the success of the Olympic football tournaments, the 3rd president of FIFA, Jules Rimet began to look at the opportunity of staging its own international tournament that had its distinct identity apart from the Olympics. So on May 28, 1928, the FIFA Congress in Amsterdam decided to flag off a world championship with Uruguay as the host country. 13 teams took part, seven from South America, two fro North America and four from Europe. Uruguay won the first World Cup, defeating runners-up Argentina 4-2 in front of a crowd of 93,000 people in Montevideo.

The current format of World Cup Soccer

The present format of World Cup Soccer involves 32 teams that compete for titles at venues within the host nation, over a period of one month. Before the event, there is a ‘qualifying phase’ which takes place in the span of the three years preceding the FIFA World Cup to determine which teams will qualify for the major event to be played in the host nation

So far, there have been 19 World Cup tournaments played and they have been won by 8 different national team. Brazil has won the cup five times; they are the only team in the world to have featured in every event. The other World Cup winners are Italy which has won the title four times, Germany has won it three times; Argentina and Uruguay have won the title twice. England, France and Spain have won the titles once.

Six out of eight champions have won one of their titles in their home turn, the exceptions being Brazil and Spain. England (1966) and France (1998) won their only titles as host nations. Germany (1974) won its second title on the home soil while Uruguay (1930), Italy (1934) and Argentina (1978) won their first titles as host countries but also won to win again.

In 2010, the FIFA World Cup had 32 teams participating and 16 of them advanced to the knockout stage, where three rounds of game decided which teams would make it to the final. The final had Spain being crowned as new World Champions, defeating third time finalists the Netherlands 1-0. It happened post extra time as Andrés Iniesta hit a goal in the 116th minute, making European champions Spain, win their first world title. It was also the first time that a European nation won the tournament outside the home continent.